PLSA announces three new council members | PLSA
PLSA announces three new council members

PLSA announces three new council members

12 October 2016

Today (Wednesday 12 October), the Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association (PLSA) announced the election of three new Council members to their Defined Benefit and Defined Contribution Councils.

Mel Duffield will sit on the Defined Contribution Council while Nicola Mark and Colin Richardson will be joining the Defined Benefit Council. All three new members will assume their responsibilities after the PLSA’s AGM on 21 October.

Carol Young, Vice Chair, and Andy Cheseldine have been re-elected to the Defined Contribution Council.

The PLSA’s Councils carry out a vital role, giving members the opportunity to contribute to the strategic direction of PLSA policy on a wide range of pension issues.

Commenting on the appointments, Graham Vidler, Director of External Affairs, Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association, said:  

“The experience and expertise of all three new Council members comes at a time of great change for the pensions industry. Having Colin, Mel and Nicola on the Council will help us continue our work to improve the nation’s retirement incomes. We’re also delighted that Andy and Carol have been re-elected to continue the excellent work they’re doing on the DC Council.”

The full DB and DC Councils are on the PLSA’s website.




We’re the Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association; the national association with a ninety year history of helping pension professionals run better pension schemes. Our members include over 1,300 pension schemes with 20 million members and £1 trillion in assets, and over 400 businesses. They make us the voice for pensions and lifetime savings in Westminster, Whitehall and Brussels.

Our purpose is simple: to help everyone to achieve a better income in retirement. We work to get more money into retirement savings, to get more value out of those savings and to build the confidence and understanding of savers.

About Colin Richardson

Colin Richardson is a trustee with PTL acting for 11 occupational pension schemes ranging up to £1 billion. Prior to joining PTL Colin worked as a scheme actuary and actuarial consultant with a number of major pensions consulting firms.

Colin also has extensive defined contribution experience acting as a trustee for five master trusts and is a member of the Independent Governance Committee for the workplace pension for Aegon and Blackrock.

About Mel Duffield

Mel Duffield is Head of Pensions Strategy and Insight at the Universities Superannuation Scheme (USS). Since joining USS in February 2015, Mel’s remit covers employer and member insight, product strategy, and employer liaison.

Before joining USS Mel was Deputy Director at the Pensions Policy Institute and prior to that Head of Research and Strategic Policy at the PLSA.

About Nicola Mark

Nicola Mark has been the Head of the Norfolk Pension Fund since 2001 and is also the elected practitioner representative on the Local Government Pension Scheme National Advisory Board.  

Nicola also sits on the CIPFA Pensions Panel and Chairs the National LGPS Frameworks project. Over the years Nicola has contributed to a number of working parties, including the Myners review and Lord Hutton’s Independent Public Service Pensions Commission.

Nicola was awarded an MBE for services to local government in 2015.


Lucy Grubb, Head of Media and PR, Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association
T: 020 7601 1726, M: 07713 073023, E: [email protected]

Babak Mayamey, Press Officer, Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association
T: 020 7601 1718, M: 07825 171 446, E: [email protected]

Kathryn Mortimer, Press Officer, Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association
T: 020 7601 1748, M: 07901 007713, E: [email protected]


Navigate to ...